Make your Widescreen work in Ubuntu

Have a problem with your wide screen LCD panel being centered in Ubuntu ? No, now thats not a problem at all. I was having the same problem when I installed Ubuntu Gutsy on my system having 17″ ViewSonic VA1703wb LCD Screen. Here is how I solved my problem. (Following steps may require root privilege)

1. Open a terminal and type

cvt -v 1440 900 60.0Hz

2. You will get a modeline and note it down.

3. Open /etc/X11/xorg.conf and add the modeline under the Monitor section.

4. Now type

xrandr --output VGA --mode 1440x900@60

5. Add the above script to /etc/gdm/Init/Default to get the resolution at startup.

Note: 1440×900 @ 60Hz is my monitor resolution and you should change this to yours to work fine.

Leave a comment

Filed under Linux, Ubuntu

Leave a comment