My handwriting on my machine

Hello everyone. These days I was experimenting with fonts and font designing. I asked Hiran about font designing and he told me some useful tips. Then I began to design a font of my own handwriting using tools like Inkscape and Fontforge. Now I designed English small letters of my handwriting font. But its lacking the original style, still have to adjust the spacing and curving. But I’ll work on it and post it here when its complete. So, for anybody who likes my handwiting, its happy news. Yeah, it’ll be freely available here and you can use it in your favourite word processing software. My friends, please make suggestions on the fonts coz I’d like to know if its really look like mine’s. I call this font ‘SreeHand’.

5 Comments

Filed under Personal, Research

5 responses to “My handwriting on my machine

  1. Anu

    Nice man. This really looks like your handwriting. You only have to adjust the spacing between characters and the height. Let me know when its complete..

  2. Looks nice – how about a tutorial on how to create a font.

  3. Thanks…
    I read this tutorial and just used Inkscape to design this font.

    http://fontforge.sourceforge.net/editexample.html

    Using fontforge you can add and edit the images you drawn using Inkscape.

    Another method is scanning your handwriting to computer’s image formats and then edit it. But this is a time consuming process.

    But I’ll try to write a minimalistic HOWTO on font designing.

  4. Great work da.. it looks good.. change the space between characters. thats all..

  5. Hi Faisal. Thanks for the comment.
    I didn’t modify the font after this design. But I’ll definitely adjust the spacing issues and will post it here.

Leave a Reply

